The eleven members of the board of the Mid-Atlantic Karst Conservancy are elected by the members at the annual meeting and hold three year terms.

Officers are elected annually by the board of directors. Terms expire in November of the listed year.

The officers of the Mid-Atlantic Karst Conservancy are all also board members.


Chairman Ryan Maurer (term expires 2024).
Vice Chairman Hope Brooks (term expires 2025).
Secretary Carl Pierce (term expires 2024).
Treasurer Johnny Motto (term expires 2023).

General board members

Paul Damon, Jr. (term expires 2023).

Walt Hamm (term expires 2024).
Aron Schmid (term expires 2025).
Kerry Speelman (term expires 2023).
Andrea Gillis (term expires 2023).
Rick Smith (term expires 2025).
Curt Harler (term expires 2024).

Other Volunteer Positions

Paul Damon, Sr., Archivist
Tom Metzgar, Assistant Treasurer
Dave Field, Hall Cave Preserve Manager and Hesston Cave Manager
Jim McConkey, Silers Cave Preserve Manager
Eric Pelkey, Assistant Harlansburg Cave Preserve Manager
Jeff Jahn, Rupert Cave Trip Leader
Sunni Reitmyer, Rupert Cave Trip Leader
Barbara Schomer Preserve Managers: Tom Metzgar, grounds; Bert Ashbrook and Chris Hill, survey; Mike Schirato, reclamation liaison; Hope Brooks, science.
Kim Metzgar Webmaster, newsletter editor.
Katie Schmid, Assistant Harlansburg Cave Preserve Manager.
Rick Smith, McClure Cave Preserve Manager.
George Bange and Rick Smith, Penn Aqua Preserve Managers.